top of page

The Early Years Foundation Stage          

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) refers to the stage of children's development from birth to the end of their first year in school, including their time at pre-school.


The EYFS framework helps Pre-Schools ensure that they deliver a balanced curriculum, suited to the needs of the children. The framework sets out how Pre-Schools should work with children and families. Providing support for their development and learning, keeping children safe and cared for, the legal requirements for the learning, development and welfare of children and finally detailed information about the seven areas of learning and development.

Three prime areas:

Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development.

Children must also be supported in four specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design.


For further information about the EYFS framework or any other aspect of the EYFS please visit the Foundation Years website.

“Thrilled with the support we receive for our child’s progress”. Parent feedback
bottom of page